Major Subgroups of Hexapoda

The Hexapoda are classified as a superclass with four classes (Collembola, Protura, Diplura, and Insecta; Carpenter 1992). The Collembola, Protura, and Diplura each contains a single order, while Insecta consists of many orders.

 Collembola (springtail)  

 Litter/soil dwellers distributed world-wide

furcula on abdomen

6000 known species

Length: 1-3 mm (up to 10mm)


Litter/soil dweller distributed world-wide

No antennae and eyes

500 known species

Length: less than 2 mm


Live in wetter conditions

Moniliform antennae with at least 20 segments

Cerci on abdomen, sometimes pincer-like

800 known species

Length: 5mm (up to 50mm)


Live in various locations world-wide

Diverse in form

Largest class of living organisms (75% of all species)

Length: varied

Back to Home Page