University of Bristol logo Fossil group banner, with title and coposite picture of fossils

Monotreme Subgroups

Kingdom: Animalia

Phylum: Chordata

Class: Mammalia

Order: Monotremata

Living monotremes are classified into two families; the Ornithirhynchidae (Platypus family) and the Tachyglossidae (echidnas) and are all indenous to australia and New Guinea. However, the order used to be much more diverse with two other families recognised; the Kollikodontidae and the Steropdontidae. Below is a summery of the fossil and extant species currently known (those species in red are now extinct):

 Relative size of the extinct Megalibgwilia ramsayi



Author: Catrin Roberts
Last updated: 23.11.83
Return to Fossil groups home page


Websites produced by students on the MSc Palaeobiology programme in the Department of Earth Sciences at the University of Bristol for academic year 2005-6