University of Bristol logo Fossil group banner, with title and coposite picture of fossils

Order Strigiformes

The Strigiformes are the owls. There are over 200 species of owl distributed globally, except for Antarctica, Greenland and a few remote islands. They are solitary, primarily nocturnal hunters (although some hunt at dawn or dusk), which feed on insects, small mammals and small birds. A few even specialise in hunting fish. They have several adaptions to a predatory lifestyle including a hawk-like beak, sharp claws, binocular vision and good hearing.

Author: Robert Davis
Last updated: 21/11/05

Return to Major subgroups

Return to Modern forms

Return to Fossil groups home page

Websites produced by students on the MSc Palaeobiology programme in the Department of Earth Sciences at the University of Bristol for academic year 2005-6